Dangal – Bollywood Movie

Dangal

I love Bollywood movies, ESPECIALLY movies that star Aamir Khan. In my opinion, the movies that he produces/directs or takes the lead in are always very meaningful, creative, unique, purposeful, funny, inspiring, cool… OMG the list can go on.

I still remember, it was during our Project Work time, with a weary brain, I went on to YouTube to take a break. I was scrolling through the ‘Trending’ page, hoping to chance upon interesting videos. To my surprise I saw a video titled, “Dangal | Official Trailer | Aamir Khan | In Cinemas Dec 23, 2016”. Without hesitation, I clicked and my day was made. Finally, after 2 years Aamir Khan Productions released a movie!

I watched Dangal 4 times already and still don’t find it boring. ‘Dangal’ which translates to ‘wrestling’, is a unique, inspiring and emotional movie. It is based on the true story of Mahavir Singh Phogat, an amateur wrestler who desires to claim the championship at the Commonwealth Games in New Delhi for his country. However, Mahavir’s hopes are dashed due to a lack of government sports funding. Undaunted, Mahavir believes that if he were to have a son, he can still live his failed dream. But he is blessed with daughters instead. After the birth of his fourth daughter, he gives up. But when Mahavir’s girls beat up his neighbor’s son for bullying them, he decides to train two of his daughters, Geeta and Babita as competitive wrestlers. Going against societal expectations, he treats his daughters with no mercy, restricts them from eating their favorite spicy food and crops their hair marine short — to the mirth of their schoolmates.

It is comedic how the girls drag themselves out of bed every day and come up with myriad excuses to escape the torturous early morning training. But then, Geeta starts winning mini wrestling competitions against boys…

And I won’t spoil the rest for you.

What also really AMAZEDDD me was Aamir Khan’s body transformation. Khan plays both Mahavir as a young, pumped athlete, and as a saggy middle-aged man who has given up on life. Within the 9 months of production, Khan worked out and bulked up, transforming his body from one extreme to another extreme (see photos below). I’ve included a link which explains Aamir Khan’s diet and workout schedule…if you need some tips. Haha!

dangal 2

dangal 3

http://www.borntoworkout.com/aamir-khan-workout-schedule-diet-chart/

Aamir Khan worked really hard for Dangal. He slept only 1 hour almost every day to make this movie and it is obvious that he is a very passionate actor. His movies are always meant to encourage people to reach higher than they ever thought possible. Some of his other movies that I would like to recommend: 3 Idiots and PK.

I cannot wait for his next movie releasing in August this year !

 

One thought on “Dangal – Bollywood Movie

  1. Pingback: Bollywood's Best Inspirational Movies Based On True Stories

Leave a comment