Anticipating Dr Who series 10

I discovered Dr Who a few Christmases ago when my friends introduced it to me. Not to exaggerate, but I fell head over heels in love with the series. A few years now, and I’m still keeping up to date with the latest episodes because it is that amazing, and I would no doubt choose Dr Who over Sherlock (starring Benedict Cumberbatch)… or maybe not. So guess who was over the moon, when the team announced its 10th series after a 12 months hiatus, with Peter Capaldi as the Doctor and his new companion Pearl Mackie? I have to admit that I was expecting more from Clara Oswald in the previous season but, oh well, I’m excited for Bill (Mackie’s character)!

maxresdefault

Here’s a little bit about Dr Who for the uninitiated: it’s a long-standing BBC science-fiction TV series that ran from 1963 to 1989 and was relaunched in 2005. ‘The Doctor’ is a time lord, an extraterrestrial being from the planet Galifrey, and he explores the universe via a time-travelling space ship called the Tardis. The Tardis – Time and Relative Dimension in Space, is disguised as a police phone box so that whenever the Doctor travels to a new location, the Tardis would not raise any suspicions as it appears out of nowhere. Something really unique to this series is that every few seasons, the doctor regenerates and takes on a new body and personality. The process is to help the time lord who has aged or has been wounded heavily to undergo a transformation that keeps him alive.

1180x360-z-wk45-ht-doctor-who-box-023-063830

Let me share with you a few of my favourite episodes in Dr Who. The series has done many episodes based on famous historical figures, such as Vincent Van Gogh. The Van Gogh episode was so intriguing that it left me with many questions about the life of the famous artist. Of course, the episode was not all factual, but there were narrative elements telling how Van Gogh suffered from depression that made everything seem so believable. The ending took an unexpected turn and left me semi-heartbroken, but I thought that it was a befitting conclusion, and so true to his life. Another episode that I absolutely love is called ‘Blink’. Blink was adapted from the short story ‘What I Did on My Christmas Holidays by Sally Sparrow’, it was written by Steven Moffat who is also the producer of Dr Who. This episode is one of the most heart-stopping, spine-tingling, hair-raising… episode, if you get my drift. I’m someone who can’t take horror movies and this amount of scare is just right (don’t belittle me, please). There were so many twists in the plot and I was constantly kept on the edge of my seat. I highly recommend this episode, and please, watch it at night with the lights out.

p00r6t63.jpg

blink1.jpg

Dr Who is for people who are craving something extraordinary in their lives. There’s nothing wrong in believing in aliens, or even magic. In my book, there’s always a possibility that things beyond what we imagine can happen. Between my friends and I, we always joke about the sound of the Tardis landing,

Me: Guys!! Do you hear that?

Friend: What

Me: The Tardis!!

Me and Friend: (Cue the theme song of Dr Who)

maxresdefault (1)

As clichéd as it sounds, when watching Dr Who, it really feels like I’m on an adventure with the Doctor, across space and time. Isn’t life an adventure after all? We are always faced with the unexpected, and most of the time, we either brush it off, or moan about wanting a normal life. But I believe, that an eventful life is a life worth living, and I’m encouraging all of you to either go find some adventure, or watch Dr Who.

Dr Who (Series 10) premiered on 15 April 2017. Comprising 12 episodes, the series is available on BBC Worldwide (consult your local cable operator for details).

Leave a Reply

