Student on a budget: Shopping on Taobao

So how does this Taobao thing work? You find what you want on Taobao, copy the link and paste it in ezbuy (it’s a middleman service that helps you ship your stuff over to Singapore from China)! You can actually just shop on ezbuy but I still prefer Taobao because it’s cheaper and you can find more items there as well (Taobao hack: see something you like on ezbuy but think it’s a little pricey? Take a screenshot, go to Taobao, use the camera function and find the item you want using the screenshot!).

HAUL TIME! Of course I won’t be showing you every item I got, because it will be never ending so I’m just going to show a few here!

A Brandy Melville inspired top! Why get one at $35 when you can get it at $6!

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Maybe “the quality is different,” but how different can it get when almost everything these days is Made In China? (I’m kidding, don’t get too butt hurt, thanks!) There may be some quality difference but on the whole, for a $6 top, the quality is good enough.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

white off-shoulder top @ $4.50

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

pink t-shirt @ $5

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

pink suede halter top @ $5

As you can see, the clothes I buy are generally basics and most of the time, they can’t go wrong. Personally, I feel that the quality of the clothes are absolutely worth the price you are paying. A friend even bought her prom dress from Taobao, and said “it looked great”. And though I’ve yet to buy anything with defects, it’s still wise to look at the reviews of the seller before purchasing.

Of course, it’s not always hassle-free. Sometimes a pesky little “pending inspection and repacking” notification might pop up, which is VERY annoying because it delays the entire order. My friend and I have been inconvenienced on separate occasions, and it took about 1.5 months for the items to finally reach us.

Obviously the clothes are not Topshop, or Zara quality, so if you are EXTREMELY picky about quality and stuff, Taobao won’t be your thing. For me, if you’ve read my previous posts, you will know how much I LOVE a good deal and honestly, $5 for a top sounds like a pretty darn good deal to me.

FullSizeRender (7).jpg

Good things must share: FREE AGENT FEE ON EZBUY FOR THE WHOLE MONTH OF APRIL!!!

Leave a Reply

