Student on a budget: Thrift Shopping

Who doesn’t love cheap stuff? That satisfaction you get when you buy something good at a ridiculously low price and fitting too? Reasons why I absolutely love shopping on taobao but it’s not everyday that you get free agent fee and free shipping.

I’ve never been to a thrift shop before so when I came across this article written by ‘TheSmartLocal’ I was like, “I need to go thrift shopping.”

The first place I went to was “Something Old, Something New“. It’s a thrift shop located at Simei Care Centre which provides training and employment opportunities to persons recovering from psychiatric conditions. Here, they are trained and equipped with retail and logistics skills to boost their employability while at the same time, the organisation supports the green initiative through reducing, reusing and recycling.

SOSN sells not only clothes, but also books, soft toys, strollers etc. and at really affordable prices as well! The two ladies who work here were extremely friendly and even gave my friend a discount even though everything was already very cheap. However, I didn’t really like the clothes here as they were not really what I would wear, so I didn’t buy anything.

IMG_8858.JPEG

Saw this really pretty dress, suitable for people shopping for prom but not wanting to spend too much on something they won’t wear ever again

Something Old, Something New: 10 Simei Street 3, Singapore 529897

The next place I went to was “Refash“. There are 3 outlets and I went to the one at City Plaza, 5 mins walk from Paya Lebar MRT. Although the clothes here are slightly pricier as compared to the previous place, they are generally trendier and would suit the style of most people.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Refash looks like your typical clothing store rather than a thrift store, I was honestly really impressed.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

20% off STORE WIDE when you purchase 3 items or more! I died and of course I bought 3 — to think it couldn’t get any cheaper!

One tiny complaint some people may have is that you can’t try on the clothes there (but it didn’t really bother me) so you can only eyeball the fit. But overall I really liked this place!

I bought 2 dresses here for under $20, which is similar to the price at Bugis Street but better quality.

So this dress isn’t something I would typically wear but it’s cute and affordable (not taobao cheap but still considerably affordable), so why not? Plus the cutting, the checkered print and the two cute pockets makes me look like a demure lady. Wear this with a pair of flats and you’re all ready to meet your boyfriend’s parents!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Low quality photo but high quality dress @ only $12!! Also, baby’s breath in the middle because aesthetics

This dress is rather versatile, ready for either casual or formal occasions, and I really like it, ‘k? Pair it with a denim jacket for a casual but edgy look or just by itself with a pair of heels and you’re ready for a concert!

FullSizeRender (1)

Bustier dress @ $16!! plus more white girly aesthetics

You really have so scan through every piece of clothing to make sure you don’t miss anything, so if you are the kind of person that hates doing so, then thrift shopping isn’t for you. Overall, I would rate this thrift shopping experience 8/10, because the price you pay for the quality of clothes you get is really worth it.

Refash: 810 Geylang Road, #03-130 City Plaza, Singapore 409286

FullSizeRender

Good things must share!

Leave a Reply

