La Pizzaiola: an unexpected pleasure

Take the left fork from Jalan Girang into Jalan Riang and you should be able to see a whole lane of eateries. The area looks secluded and cosy amidst the rows of semi-detached houses. Parking might be a big problem for those looking for a late-night snack at a time when everyone in the neighbourhood has come home to roost.

We dined at La Pizzaiola, an Italian-themed restaurant. The exterior is a simple black-and-white colour scheme with wood-framed glass panels and a sky roof, looking very clean in both the design and hygiene sense. In the quiet of the night, warm lights hung from the ceiling made the ambience perfect. What came as a surprise for me was upon entry, the buzz inside was overwhelming. The acoustics, possibly augmented by the unadorned cement flooring, amplified and blended the voices of patrons so it sounded happy and active. I slowly immersed myself into the atmosphere and enjoyed a carefree ambience where everyone could be as gregarious and amiable as they wanted.

I thoroughly admired the open kitchen concept and the empty pizza boxes stacked up as both function and decor. The interior has a rustic charm with pictures of nature hanging off wooden planks nailed to the wall — a touch of makeshift homeliness which I liked.

As usual, I had to irritably muddle through all the Italian names on the menu. At least the descriptions were in plain English. We decided to share a pizza and a pasta dish. Here’s what we had:

Ravioli Di Salsccia – Handmade Ravioli with Sausage in Spicy Tomato Sauce ($13.90)

I really enjoyed the ravioli. Initially, I was apprehensive of eating Italian wonton as I thought the portions would be quite miserly, but this ravioli changed my mind. The sausage filling was splendid and  presented a good bite! The sauce was tomato-based with a pinch of chili to give it some oomph. It’s not too hot though, so non-chili lovers might totally give this a try. It was surprisingly quite filling as well!

Quattro Stagioni – Tomato, Mozzarella, Artichokes, Ham, Mushroom and Olives ($14.90)

This pizza was a new experience for me. I chanced upon the word ‘Artichokes’ and decided to give it a try since I had no idea what it was. I realised it was a vegetable that tasted slightly sour. Together with the other ingredients, the combination tasted fine! I enjoyed the crispy thin crust and the tomato base. The pizza was well-balanced between the sour artichokes, sweet tomato base and salty ham, thus $14.90 is quite a reasonable price for such a commendable offering.

Being small eaters, we had difficulty finishing the food so we got the service-oriented and friendly staff to pack the remaining slices of pizza for takeaway. I must commend them for the beautiful takeaway boxes as shown below:

Pretty Takeaway Box & Paper Bag

I would definitely like to introduce this fantastic casual dining outlet to my friends. Do check out the other amazing eateries along the same shophouse row, such as the dessert store,  Wimbly Lu, next door as well!

Here’s how I would rate my overall experience:

Food: ☆☆☆☆
Ambience: ☆☆☆
Service: ☆☆☆☆☆
Value for Money: ☆☆☆

La Pizzaiola
Braddell Heights Estate
15-3 Jalan Riang
Singapore 358987

Tel: 65 6282 5031
Fax: 65 6282 5190

Opening hours:
11.30am – 3pm & 5.30pm to 10.30pm

Leave a Reply

